3.3.2.2

future expansion to 20 members. Members are elected for a four-year term of office. The Council nominates three of its members to the Executive Committee who will each administer one of the following portfolios: Education, Local Government, and Health, Welfare and Rehabilitation.

The Council meets at least twice a year usually in the territorial capital, Whitehorse. A daily record of Council sessions is published under the authority of the Speaker and the Queen's Printer.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Yukon Territory in January 1977
Commissioner, A.M. Pearson
Executive Committee: A.M. Pearson,

Commissioner, A.M. Pearson
Assistant Commissioner (Executive), P.J.
Gillespie

Assistant Commissioner (Administrative), M.E. Miller

Clerk of Council, L.J. Adams
Legal Adviser to the Commissioner and

Council, P. O'Donoghue

Executive Committee: A.M. Pearson, chairman; P.J. Gillespie, M.E. Miller, F. Whyard, D. Lang, J.K. McKinnon, members; L.J. Adams, secretary

Members of Council: A. Berger, B. Fleming, J. Hibberd, D. Lang, E. Millard, S. McCall, W. Lengerke, D. Taylor, F. Whyard, G. McIntyre, J.K. McKinnon,

H. Watson.

## Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1970, c.N-22) provides for an executive, legislative and judicial structure. The Commissioner is the chief executive officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of the Northwest Territories under the direction of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In practice, all major policy decisions are taken on the advice of the Council of the Northwest Territories. The Commissioner can spend funds only to the extent voted by Council and all new revenue measures are subject to Council approval. Normally the Commissioner obtains federal approval of proposed legislation and budgetary measures before submitting them to Council.

The Council of the Northwest Territories consists of 15 elected members and has a life of four years. It meets at least twice a year, usually for three weeks at a January session and two weeks at a spring session, but more often if required. A Clerk of Council and a legal adviser provide the main administrative assistance. Debates are recorded verbatim.

The Northwest Territories Act gives the Territorial Council authority to legislate in most areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game; these are reserved to the federal government. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the Commissioner. The federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. The Commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' bills are allowed, except for money matters, which are the prerogative of the Commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the Council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the Commissioner seeks advice or authority to take a particular course of action.

Parliament approved significant legislation in 1974 for the political development of the Northwest Territories. Amendments to the Northwest Territories Act increased the number of elected members of the Territorial Council from 10 to 15 and eliminated appointed members. Elections were held in March 1975 for the first entirely elected Council. The new Council selects its speaker from among its members; previously the Commissioner was the presiding officer. Council also nominates two other members to the Executive Committee along with the Commissioner, who is chairman, the Deputy Commissioner and an Assistant Commissioner. This committee advises the Commissioner on broad policy matters and acts as a consultative body for him.

The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for criminal but not for civil matters or the constitution or organization of the courts (see Chapter 2). Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.